Boho Modern Living Room | Inspiration

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration

We live in a small, two bedroom fourplex on a quiet street, in a somewhat uneventful college town. Do we think about the day we’ll finally have our own house and be done with renter-ville? All. The. Time. But honestly, we can’t complain. Despite the lovely wood-paneled wall in our living room, and the splashes of 1970’s linoleum flooring, it really isn’t bad. The rent is dirt cheep and the landlord is awesome. (That right there is a miracle in and of itself.)

For a long time I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with our living room. Living in a place you know is temporary doesn’t exactly make you want to rush out and drop tons of dough on furnishings. (Said like we have tons of dough in the first place… Ha.) Nevertheless, I feel like I’m finally beginning to hone in on what I would like to work towards.

Here is some of my inspiration. Notice the bold, but warm black and white color combos, strong geometric shapes/patterns paired with organic materials, and lots of texture (both visual and physical). Please pin images from their original sources. Thanks!

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration1

print via

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration2

via

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration3

via

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration4

via

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration5

via

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration6

via

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration8

original source unknown

bohemian-modern-living-room-inspiration9

via

I just love the modern, yet comfortable and lived in look in all these images. I also love that the color pallets are simple. The color loving part of me has had a problem in the past, where I used as many colors as possible in one room. Not in a tie-dye/rainbow-unicorns sort of way mind you, but I was always afraid of not having a good balance of warm and cool if I didn’t use a lot of color. These achieve that warm/cool balance, but in a much more sophisticated and calm way.

A transformation to something like this won’t happen overnight, but next up I’ll be showing the direction I’m thinking of taking to achieve this look, as well as some before pics of the place so you can get an idea of what I’m working with.

Wow, I feel accomplished. I finally worked up the courage to write a blog post. Pats on the back for me. 🙂

One thought on “Boho Modern Living Room | Inspiration

Leave a Reply

